Okay, I'm an old-fashioned girl. I am continuously impressed by the advances in technology, but people should be allowed to choose whether or not they want to embrace the digital age completely or continue to do things the old-fashioned way. For example, email is a wonderful way to communicate with people, but I still send handwritten letters and always appreciate receiving them (especially in this day and age). There have actually been rumors going around that schools are going to drop teaching their students to write cursive, that it is becoming obsolete. Being completely dependent on technology is not wise. Our children should still learn how to write cursive. They should be taught to appreciate the joys of reading and turning the pages of a real book; the joy of going to the library and choosing a book right off of the shelves and checking it out with their very own library card. I loved doing research the old-fashioned way by looking things up for myself. So many other topics of interest would always catch my eye, and I would go back and read about those once my research was done. Now everybody just 'Googles' everything. You can still learn a lot that way, but there is something about looking things up in books on your own that is so much more rewarding. I don't have a cell phone. If I need to make a phone call when I'm out, there's no longer a pay phone in sight. I will not be forced into buying a cell phone just because everyone else has decided it is now the only way to make a call. By making it possible to do almost everything on the internet we have isolated ourselves more and more. We shop online, order food online, date online, talk online, where is the human contact? It's cold and impersonal. I will not go so far as to say that I would never get an e reader, but I have no plans to own one at this time. I enjoy reading books the old fashioned way, thank you very much.

Powered by Plinky

