I have several favorites, and most of them are animated. Little Drummer Boy, Nestor The Long Eared Christmas Donkey, Frosty The Snowman, Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer…you get the picture. My dad used to turn off all the lights but the Christmas tree, turn the TV on, then call my brother and I out into the living room. He would never tell us what was on…we had to wait and see. This was back in the days when Dolly Madison sponsored the Charlie Brown cartoons, and when the Norelco Santa flew around on a triple-headed shaver. The commercials and sponsors are part of those fond memories. It isn't quite the same these days, of course, but when the programs come on, I always try to watch them. It's bittersweet to be sure, but I can almost hear my dad's enthusiasm as he knocked on my door; how he got us all settled in front of the TV just before the programs started. It was a magical time of the year back then, and the shows just made it all the more special.

Powered by Plinky

