Losing this house. I know I'm fighting a losing battle, but I've got to fight. My mom worked hard for everything she has. Nobody should have to lose their homes when they suffer a catastrophic illness. She's in a nursing home by necessity, not by choice. She wants to be at home, and she doesn't think anybody has the right to take that home and everything she owns away from her. Our house has nearly forty years of possessions inside that need to be sorted through. I have about six months to try to get through all of it by myself before the property taxes are due. Ain't happening. I have one garbage can and a very strict town that doesn't allow you to put stuff by the curb until the night before your trash pickup. If I walk away from this house as is, we will lose everything. I have been to every organization, charity, church group, township office, friends, family…no one can or will help us. My family is willing, but they live too far away and can't get the time off of work to come up and help us. My friends are the same way…some of them have more than one job and they just don't have the time. There's a lot of work to be done, and one sick person stretched beyond her limits trying to do it all. I don't eat well, I don't sleep. I'm going to be homeless and there's nothing I can do to stop it. It's the most terrifying feeling in the world. Change is good my a**.

Powered by Plinky

