One day at a time. That's it. I can only handle one day at a time. Others that I like? Today is the first day of the rest of your life. If only that were true. Live today like it was your last. It already feels like my last. My dad always used to tell me whenever I'd cry, "Don't feel sh** on." His motto? "If you are not part of the solution, you are part of the problem." He had a little wooden sign hanging in the kitchen, and he would point it out to me, my mom and my brother every day. He made it clear that we were part of his problem. I had to take it one day at a time then, and I continue to do it now. Baby steps. Dragging my feet. Beaten, bloody and bruised. Limping my way through life one day at a time with cruel words echoing through my head and following me everywhere I go; swirling around and around me like some loop recording from hell that will never shut off as long as I live. Tomorrow will be better, I lie to myself, but it keeps me putting one foot in front of the other, one day at a time.

Powered by Plinky

