Cute Kids in Children’s Costumes

When I was a kid, always. Now, not so much. It's not that I wouldn't enjoy a costume party or two, I just don't know anyone who does things like that. My mom always enjoyed handing out candy to the kids so she could see the costumes. Last year, I made sure she was bundled up and sitting outside in her wheelchair so that she could still enjoy herself. Now that she's in a nursing home, I will not be handing out candy, at least this year. For one, I really can't afford to. Secondly, my mom's enthusiasm was infectious, and the thing that made me enjoy trick or treating the most was the fact that she did. It was fun to see how happy it made her to have the kids come up and get candy from her, especially since she has no grandchildren of her own. Everything is just too sad now without her around. Depending on what happens to us, it may be a very long time before I find Halloween an occasion to celebrate again.

Powered by Plinky

