065/365: Show us your smile!

Okay, I don't have much experience being picked up. I am not considered pick-up worthy; for some reason I've never been able to measure up to the medias portrayal of what 'real' women are supposed to look like. However, even someone like me does hear a beauty from time to time. Even though this was not a pick up line per se, it was an attempt to get me to stroke an ego that was, to put it mildly, overblown. One of my brother's friends thought himself a ladies man, and he liked to brag. My brother asked me to drive them to a local bar (they couldn't walk the three blocks to get there, mind you). His friend went on and on about how he was always surrounded by women, how irresistible he was, and that they just couldn't stay away from him. Then he looks at me and says to my brother, "See? Becky's sittin' next to me." He had such a smug look on his face I just wanted to slap him, so I did the next best thing. I took him down a notch. "That's because the steering wheel's up here and somebody's got to drive the car" I shot back in my most sarcastic tone. My brother laughed so hard I thought he was going to pass out. I had never witnessed an ego deflate before; it was like a balloon that was filled to bursting let loose before it was tied. I actually visualized him sputtering haphazardly around inside the car and falling limply back into the seat. I wouldn't have minded indulging him if he were a nice guy, but he was so full of himself it wasn't even funny. Even his buddies couldn't stand him anymore. My brother high-fived me from the back seat right in front of him.

Powered by Plinky

