My Grandma Ruland's Farm. When I was a child, it was an Eden; a place that our family could escape to that really made me feel that we had truly gotten away from it all. It was way back off the main highway down a long winding sand and gravel road that was partially lined with a row of tall pines. The property was surrounded by bluffs and farmland without another house in sight. I always wanted to grow up and buy that place. Years go by and things change so much; someone built a vacation house on the property. So much for the privacy. My uncle passed away, and now the house is no longer in the family. Visiting is now out of the question. As often happens, the illusions of childhood crumble away to reveal the harsh reality that you can never go back to the way things were. I have always longed to travel. If that ever happens for me, I'm sure I will discover my new favorite place in this world. I am looking forward to it.

Powered by Plinky

