Mirrors

I roll my eyes at the media's portrayal of women. We were not put on this earth to be flawless, mindless arm candy. For years, movies, television, magazines and the like have doctored women to their specifications with no regard for their health or well-being; let alone for the unattainable image and the effect that it has on the general public. Unless you can afford to be waxed, peeled, liposuctioned, and airbrushed to perfection, there is no way in hell that you're ever going to look like those women, and those are the women men have been conditioned to expect. I used to work retail, and I overheard a conversation between a woman and her little girl. This girl couldn't have been more than seven; she was still small enough to sit in the front of a shopping cart. Her mother held up a dress for her and asked her if she liked it. She said "I can't wear that mommy. I'm too fat." I swear to you, this girl didn't have an ounce of fat on her. "Who told you that you were fat?" "The boys at school, so, I can't wear that. It will make me look fat." It's no wonder that anorexia and bulimia are so epidemic among young women. They're being forced to measure their worth by the numbers on a scale, the smallest sizes of clothes that they can fit in to and how many heads they can turn. If they don't measure up, then they are not to expect happiness, passion, romance or love. The wrong message has been crystal clear for too long; unless you're beautiful in the media's eyes, you're worthless. I may not be beautiful in the eyes of men, but I am beautiful inside, and no amount of time can ever steal that away from me.

Powered by Plinky

